My Thoughts on Immigration: Personal Perspective

Throughout this unit, I have been reminded about how great of a life I have. All my life I have been taught not to take things for granted. However, being stuck in a cycle where you constantly get up, work, and then repeat, you can’t help but begin to slack, and then complain. After reading stories like Monique’s I feel somewhat guilty and tempted to not complain about my life ever again. I find myself complaining about a workload that can’t even compare to what Monique and other immigrants must face. Monique’s story is a sad, yet inspiring. Going to a country where no one speaks your language is the hardest thing ever because you cannot talk to anyone, you cannot read anything, and you start to feel so isolated by everything around you. I cannot imagine the amount of emotion and mental stress Monique had weighing down on her mind. I believe the one moment in her story that hurt me the most was her issues with knowing how to use the transportation system. To constantly get lost in an area you’re unfamiliar with just to one day end up laying on the street cold, or the get kidnapped is terrifying. When I think of
the amount of work Monique was forced to do going to a new school, along with the workload she had to learn plus recovery from homesickness and the culture shock is utterly ridiculous.

Then I look at myself. I am ridiculous. People break themselves just to come to this country and I have been blessed with the privilege to already be here. I stress over a droplet, they stress over an ocean. They have reason, and I do not. Why does it seem like the privileged tend to be more negative when they are rewarded greatly? I believe an important lesson to take away when it comes to any immigration story is to be grateful for what you have been rewarded. We need to start viewing our lives in a more positive light because things can truly be worst than what they are.

Leave a Reply

